

DINAS KEHUTANAN PROVINSI KALTENG

Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1A e-mail: dishut.kalteng.prov@gmail.com PALANGKA RAYA 73112

Terrain Conditions of Central Kalimantan Province

Central Kalimantan Province, with the capital Palangka Raya, is located between 0°45′ North Latitude to 3°30′ South Latitude and 111° to 116° East Longitude. Central Kalimantan Province is the second largest province in Indonesia (after the Papua Province) with an area of approximately 153,564 Km².

Central Kalimantan Province has 11 (eleven) large rivers and not less than 33 (thirty-three) small rivers/creeks seen as one of the distinctive features of Central Kalimantan Province. The Barito River with the length of 900 km and depth of 8 m, is the longest river in Central Kalimantan that it can be navigated up to 700 km.

The boundary of the Province of Central Kalimantan in the northern part is the Muller Schwanner mountain belt. With at least has 52 hills seen from a height of 343 meters namely Bukit Ancah to 2278 meters namely Bukit Raya. The Bukit Batu Tatau with a height of 1652 meters is the tip of the border of Central Kalimantan - East Kalimantan. The highest point of the Central Kalimantan region is on Mount Batu Sambang with the altitudes up to 1660 meters above sea level.

As an area with tropical climate, the Province of Central Kalimantan receives an average of 56.18% of the sun's rays per year, where the air condition is relatively hot, which is 33 °C during the day and 23 °C at night. While the average intensity of rainfall per year is relatively high, reaching 331.68 mm.

The boundaries of the Central Kalimantan Province are:

- The North side is bordered by West Kalimantan and East Kalimantan provinces.
- The South side is bordered by the Java Sea.
- The East side is bordered by East Kalimantan and South Kalimantan provinces.
- The West side is bordered by West Kalimantan Province.

Based on Act Number 5 of Year 2002, Central Kalimantan Province which originally consisted of 5 regencies and 1 City, was developed into 13 regencies and 1 City, namely:

- 1). Palangka Raya City with the capital Palangka Raya.
- 2). Kotawaringin Barat Regency with the capital Pangkalan Bun.
- 3). East Kotawaringin Regency with the capital Sampit.
- 4). Kapuas Regency with the capital Kuala Kapuas.
- 5). South Barito Regency with the capital Buntok.
- 6). North Barito Regency with the capital Muara Teweh.
- 7). Lamandau Regency with the capital Nanga Bulik.
- 8). Sukamara Regency with the capital Sukamara.
- 9). Seruyan Regency with the capital Kuala Pembuang.
- 10). Katingan Regency with the capital Kasongan.
- 11). Gunung Mas Regency with the capital Kuala Kurun.
- 12). Pulang Pisau Regency with the capital Pulang Pisau.
- 13). East Barito Regency with the capital Tamiang Layang.
- 14). Murung Raya Regency with the capital Puruk Cahu.

At present, the administrative area of Central Kalimantan Province consists of 13 Regencies and 1 City, 136 Districts, 138 Urban Villages and 1574 Villages. The total population in 2015 was 2,495,035 people.